Showing posts with label Yeah Right. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Yeah Right. Show all posts

Friday, June 04, 2010

Policing- insert Tui ad here

I do a lot of k's travelling about on the job. I can guarantee that I will pass more than several police cars driving up & down the main roads, out looking for someone to tax.

OK- given that the powers that be can have them out there all day, saving us from ourselves-WHERE ARE THEY AT NIGHT IN TOWN?

You can pretty much bet that 9/10 on the road after 2300 are pissed of under the influence of something.

If you ignore them, there are the cretins that are continually racing around burning more rubber than a Gaza riot. Every night I hear it, but would the plods ever do a night patrol about town? Probably not their fault- no doubt there is zero budgeted for anything as radical as keeping law & order...

Saturday, May 22, 2010

No surprise

"People who use cannabis before the age of 18 are more likely to end up with fewer academic qualifications, a study of more than 6000 New Zealanders and Australians shows.

The research, based on the findings of three studies, including Otago University's long-running Christchurch Health and Development Study, found those who used cannabis before they were 18 were more likely to drop out of high school, less likely to enter university and less likely to get a university degree.

People who used cannabis before the age of 15 were most likely not to achieve academically..."


Confirming what I have said for years.

Friday, January 08, 2010

The law being an Ass

"...A Perth doctor is unable to recover his $A200,000 ($NZ250,245) Lamborghini after it was seized by police who caught his mechanic driving it at speeds up to 70km/h over the limit...

...Police Minister Rob Johnson said he sympathised with the owner but that the law acted as a strong deterrent to hoons.

"I have some sympathy for him but it's a situation that he has to take up with the garage owner," Mr Johnson said on Thursday.

"It's not something that I'm prepared to change the law for, simply because somebody who owns a Lamborghini does not have that car for 28 days..."


Do I detect a hint of auto envy here?

A spot of- 'ha-ha- you rich bastard?

A bit of the old 'tall poppy syndrome'?


Because I sure as hell can't think of any other reason for not releasing his car!

'To be completely fair' my arse!

This and other traffic 'safety' bollocks is doing irreparable harm to the respect the public (mostly) once had for ther police.

So this is must be what the powers-that-be want

Because it's obvious to anyone with an IQ over about 80...